Alaska - Abolishment of Death Penalty Measure

In 1957, the Alaska Territorial Legislature abolished capital punishment with a measure (HB 99) sponsored by Representatives Warren Taylor (D-Fairbanks) and Vic Fischer (D-Anchorage) which read, "The death penalty is and shall hereafter be abolished as punishment in Alaska for the commission of any crime."

Melissa S. Green, "The Death Penalty in Alaska," Alaska Justice Forum, Winter 2009, (accessed Aug. 8, 2012)